Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

SLLI Army Para-Rowers Become Champions

48 para-rowers of the Army, grouped under 7 teams vied in the Inter Regiment Indoor Para Rowing Championship 2017, held at Panagoda Army cantonment gymnasium on Thursday (10).

Those teams, representing Sri Lanka Signal Corps (SLSC), Sri Lanka Light Infantry (SLLI), Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment (SLSR), Gemunu Watch (GW), Gajaba Regiment (GR), Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment (VIR) and Special Forces (SF) took part in the tournament.

Para-rowers of the SLLI carried away the championship after a tough tussle with their rivals in the GR team.

Lieutenant Colonel M.T.C De Silva, Commanding Officer of 11 SLSC, together with his troops on the instructions of Major General Ruwan Kulathunga, Chairman, Army Para Rowing Committee organized the tournament.

Brigadier M. T Waidyarathne, Signal Brigade Commander attended the closing ceremony as the Chief Guest, together with a gathering of Senior Officers and Other Ranks.

All the winners and participating teams were awarded certificates during the closing ceremony.